Images from October 2015 operating session

While I take my time organising some images for my previous blog post, please enjoy these images from the October 2015 operating session, provided by Brendan.

The first image shown below is taken from the edge of the fascia, alongside the changed staging area. The SAR “Big Mikado” is at the head of a passenger train (SAR TN 281 to Jameston) and is in one of the two new “long” stub ended sidings. The SAR 900 diesel in the distance is in the other long road, this train is SAR TN 161 Roadside Goods to Tatiara Downs. Even further along, an SAR 930 diesel can also just be seen at the head of the first train of the session – SAR TN 547 South East goods.

Stacked_staging_Oct_2015

The next image, again below, is of the same loco – 730 – as it brings the return passenger working (SAR TN 282) from the previous image to a stand at Border Junction, before continuing on to Tatiara Downs, then Kybybolite (and then Naracoorte). This variety of Webb power is my favourite of all SAR engines (hence why a 720 is still running circa 1976!) and is on the Border District with thanks to Rocky Rover Models and Stuart Gamble. The difference that painted, weathered and ballasted track makes is evident here …

730_at_BJN_Oct_2015

The third image shown below is taken at Tatiara Downs and is a great aspect of the stockyards – the work of maestro Don Bishop. On the wall behind the stockyards part of the simple diagram that shows the conceptual and schematic layout of the Border District can be seen – with plenty of destinations “beyond” the railway. This information is also on the back of each operator’s clipboard/folder. The SAR sheep and cattle vans have arrived from the previously captured SAR TN 161 Roadside Goods.

Stockyards_Oct_2015

The final image, below, should contain a “spoiler alert” … this is the latest and greatest addition to the layout, again courtesy of Don Bishop. “Southern Aggregates” at Border Junction was – and still will be – the subject of a separate blog post … however, I felt Brendan’s image was just too good not to share here!

Southern_Aggregates_Oct_2015

Sincere thanks to Brendan for taking and sharing the images … the host could do well to learn from the many operators who seem to be able to capture the action during an operating session …

2 thoughts on “Images from October 2015 operating session

  1. It is always hard for the host to find time to take photos during an operating session, i find I am always on call for some thing or the other as well as being controller. I don’t know about you but I never want to push in and break the operators concentration or enjoyment during an operating session. Operators on the K&EFR don’t have time to take photos during the session. I also operate on a layout called the Ippinitchie Creek and Unicorn Timber and Mining Co and find I don’t have time to take any photos there as well and it is a bit annoying when some pushes in to take a photo. I do take photos at the Christmas bring your own loco night on the IC&UT&MC which is a fun session. Other wise I take photos before and after. I usually stage them on the K&EFR. Otherwise I pick my time carefully. So there is an excuse for you not taking photos during the session. Needless to say I have enjoyed the photos your operators have taken, thank them from me.
    Ken

  2. Ken,
    Thanks for your comments and agreed on the photo front … though I usually land the Tatiara Downs “gig” for the op sessions, as it is considered the most “fun”! I think most of the operators would say this task doesn’t allow me any time to actually pick up a camera/phone/iPad! Amongst our operators we also have a resident videographer – Shelton – which reminds me that I should link to a great vid he filmed earlier this year. I feel another blog post coming …

Leave a Reply

